Randomly Inundated: Lena & Issa, Jurassic World, Tamia, Florence and OITNB

Monday, June 15th, 2015

Randomly Inundated

I’ve been so busy lately but I’m gonna wrap it all up in one post that I’m calling “Randomly Inundated”. In this post, I’m gonna briefly share my thoughts on Issa Rae’s new book Awkward Black Girl and my confusion with the universal interest of Lena Dunham. Also, I travelled back to my 90s childhood this weekend and saw the amazing Jurassic World! Meanwhile, Tamia surprised us with one of my favorite albums this year and I’m still being slayed by the new Florence + The Machine album. Finally, its OITNB weekend!


 

Awkward Black Girl vs Not That Kind Of Girl 

IMG_0903IMG_0933

It seemed like last Fall I saw Lena Dunham on every late night couch and news outlet promoting her new memoir. Before her book was even written, there was conversation about it. I think she’s a great writer and I think she worked hard for where she is but there’s just something about her that reads “privileged try hard”. Issa Rae has been someone I always loved, she’s really funny and she’s carved her own way. Back in February, I saw her on an Instagram post with Kid Fury & Crissle talking about a book. I thought it was something with beginning to brainstorm but after research, I learned her book had been out for almost a month. What? Where was she promoting this book? I definitely would’ve been out to support her. Why wasn’t she afforded the same promotional outlets as Lena? So recently I got around to reading both books and I’ll start with Lena’s Not That Kind Of Girl. I’m sure it was interesting to someone, but honestly it was just like someone typed a 300 page transcript of a Lena Dunham interview. I had a little interest in the chapter about her life after college but other than that, it was an undirected mess. I know I sound biased but I just expected so much more with the acclaim that Lena gets with everything. I finished Issa Rae’s Awkward Black Girl book this week and I loved it! Maybe its because I relate to Issa a lot more. I think she was able to capture the ups & downs of her life and see the humor in it. There were moments I actually laughed out loud at this book and that never happens. I’m not gonna just rip Lena Dunham apart, as I believe her story should be told too, I just hope that Issa’s story gets the same shine in the future. Bottom line, Awkward Black Girl is a great read and I definitely recommend. I loved it!


 

JURASSIC WORLD!

3k7q1zB

 

OMG! So I saw this in IMAX on Saturday and I LOVED it! It was so fun and it took me back to my childhood. Chris Pratt & Bryce Dallas Howard were fantastic in their roles and I can’t wait to see a sequel. Job well done!

Jurassic World: 8.5/10

Side note: Does anyone else think about the lawsuits & jail time that would actually happen after everything?


 

Florence + The Machine and Tamia 

sleeve TamiaLoveLife

 

2015 was looking like a very boring music year. Honestly, I hadn’t been interested in anyone’s album since Jazmine Sullivan and Kendrick Lamar. Then June came around now I think I’ll definitely be getting the life that I’ve been needing from my iTunes. First, I am a STAN for Florence + The Machine! Their music is so cinematic and it takes me into a heavenly state, I’ve loved them since 2010. Their third album, How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful , is arguably their best yet. I love the production of their first two albums (Lungs and Ceremonials). The songwriting and the instruments are just flawless. This outing, it seems the band is a lot more reserved, but it works perfectly because its resulted in a more soulful project. Florence has an amazing voice and it finally gets the chance to shine on this project. I predict this being one of the best albums of the year. Tamia, on the other hand, released one of most refreshing R&B albums I’ve heard lately. Love Life is filled with mature and sultry R&B. Tamia has always  been a favorite of mine. I love her voice and she’s always presented herself as classy. She’s the perfect example of how you don’t have to scream to give a great vocal performance, she has such crisp vocals. I knew it would be a good album but I must say I was blown away and I think it will also be in my top albums of the year. I give both of these albums an A- .


 

Orange Is The New Black

Orange-is-the-New-Black-Season-3-Poster

 

 

OITNB binge weekend is finally here! Although, I’ve been a little slower watching this season, I think I’m in for a treat.  What I’ve seen so far makes me think it will be the best season yet.  I know there has been some criticism about the more somber tone this season but I’m loving it! I like this tone a lot more than the outrageous (and great) tone from last season. I feel the writing is amazing this year and its really touching on the emotional side of things. This show definitely has the best writers room in media. The ability to tell these diverse stories takes work and I continue to be blown away each season. So far, I give it an A!

Leave a comment